Baking Spelt Bread–A Form of Meditation

It’s a hit! I can make bread! I learned a recipe from my dear friend Mary Ann O’Brien for a tasty, hearty yeast-free, spelt bread that is sure to be loved without sending your glycemic index up. Very easy, too! Can be egg-free for those who do not eat eggs.

Spelt Bread
2 cups of spelt flour (found in many supermarkets these days)
1/3 cup water, approx
1 tsp Baking Soda
3/4 cup of muesli or nuts/raisins/seeds–whatever suits your fancy
1/2 tsp of sea salt
1 egg OR 2 Tbsp olive oil.
Put all ingredients into bowl and mix with a wooden spoon. Dough should be somewhat wet and should be sticking together. If not, add one more Tbsp of water.
spread dough evenly into a baking pan. Bake for 30 minutes in a 150C oven. Serve warm.
Tastes great with avocado and a slice of tomato and sprinkle of sea salt! Experiment with different seeds, nuts, dried fruits. You can add more than 3/4 of a cup for extra chunky bread.
TIP: Use a non-stick cooking liner in the bread pan for easy bread removal!

This is a simple recipe, but I find when I do it, I just feel so good. I think about how healthy and tasty it will be, how Andy will enjoy it, I’ll enjoy it, my guests will enjoy it. It’s like a little meditation for my soul. Enjoy in good health!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Baking Spelt Bread–A Form of Meditation”

  1. Hydy Says:

    Thanks for linking me to your recipe. This sounds easy and delicious. 🙂

Leave a comment